The Transgender Community Needs Our Support

You’ll forgive me if this post is confusing, but I won’t be referring to Leelah Alcorn by her deadname, nor will I be referring to her with any pronouns other than what she wanted. Also, please pardon me if this comes off as a little reactionary.

WHAT THE FUCK ARE SOME FUCKING PARENTS THINKING TODAY? YOU HAVE A LIVING, BREATHING PERSON IN FRONT OF YOU AND YOU WOULD RATHER CLING TO SOME ARCHAIC, OUTDATED SENSE OF MORALITY THEN SUPPORT YOUR OWN FLESH AND BLOOD.

If you haven’t read about the story of Leelah Alcorn then you can read about it on CNN here. I can barely read the article because of some of the quotes from her mother, like this one on her being transgender:

Carla Alcorn“We don’t support that, religiously,” Alcorn’s mother told CNN Wednesday, her voice breaking. “But we told him that we loved him unconditionally. We loved him no matter what. I loved my son. People need to know that I loved him. He was a good kid, a good boy.”

-Carla Alcorn

Your child threw herself in front of a bus because she never got any support from you, and she looked to the future and saw that her existence was hopeless. Then, after her death, you still refuse to accept her for who she was. Instead, you delude yourself and cling to the idea that she was sick and God meant for her to be a boy. The idea that perhaps you could respect how she saw herself, and how she wanted to be, which was perfect by the way, never entered your sick addled brain.

Now, I’ve come to hear that the parents buried her in a suit, and insisted that the name on the tombstone read “Joshua Alcorn”. That’s rather unsurprising. It hurts my heart, but it’s unsurprising.

While I’m loathe to agree with Dan Savage on anything, I have to agree with a number of his points on the issue. They at least bear thought and investigation.

They systematically cut off her support, and had her see “Christian Therapists” that only tried to tell her she was wrong. I am so fortunate that throughout my life as a gay man that my parents never, ever abused me in this way. These children have a hard enough life as it is, with their parent’s support, they don’t need their parents mentally destroying them as well. She had people that wanted to support her, and the Alcorns tore them away.

The transgender community, more than ever, needs our support. I am hearing people, good meaning people, not get the point here. This is how gay and lesbian men and women were treated 10-20 years ago. We need to stand up for the transgender community and make it clear that this is not acceptable. Clearly Leelah Alcorn throwing herself in front of a bus wasn’t enough to get the message across.

Her final words, reiterated here, are pretty poignant.

Tagged with: , , , , , , ,
Posted in Christian, Politics

Leave a Reply

